Workaday


 

I volunteered to be a student ambassador for an AVID event on campus today. Waking up at six thirty in the morning, I regretted my choice bitterly, but still dragged myself out of bed and got dressed. I drove across the city under a continuing haze of smoke from the distant wild-fire, dense enough to turn the sun into a dim red ball in the sky. The morning light was strange and dim and yellow, but at least I didn’t need sunscreen.

The exits to the south-bound highway were closed with no apparent explanation, but even with the detour I arrived early. For a while I sat outside and did some writing (leave it to the muses to strike on the days when you have no time to write) and then went inside to help setup the registration table. The job of a student ambassador involved handing out badges and setting up tables and snacks: both tasks that I felt I was capable to handle. The event was a summit for AVID instructors to learn about new features of the Media Composer and Pro Tools software and to learn details for their certification exams. I sat in on the Pro Tools breakout session for a little while, but found most of the information to be over my head: referring to features and processes that I’d never used or needed before now. Still, it was interesting to see some of the things the software could do that I just never knew about.

At the end of the day I drove home tired, but feeling like it had been a success. I’d met a few people and made myself useful and gotten a free t-shirt and thumb drive out of the bargain. And a couple burritos. And it was technically paid. So not bad for a days work. Tomorrow our only appointment is to look at another rental house, so it won’t be necessary to get up at the crack of dawn. It should be enough to make us feel like we’ve made an accomplishment and still have some time to relax.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
