All Walks


ou

What're YOU lookin' at?

What’re YOU lookin’ at?

I was sitting in the car in Hollywood, waiting to pick up a hard drive. I’d arrived early and had about ten minutes to kill before calling my contact and announcing my presence, so I took a moment to just relax and listen to the radio and watch the world go by. Hollywood did not disappoint. I’d barely been sitting for a handful of minutes before a man walked up to the corner with two small dogs on leashes and a large cockatoo on his shoulder. A cockatoo of the palest pink. There seemed to be some dispute between the gentleman and the driver of a car who had approached the intersection about who had the right of way. The gentleman waved the driver through. The cocaktoo spread it’s wings and squawked like an aggressive pedestrian. I could only imagine that it had been trained to say: “Hey! I’m walkin’ here!”

Hollywood.

The largest portion of my day was spent on the Foley stage recording footsteps for a film. Our session ran longer than intended, but we got everything we had on the cue sheet, so I deemed it a success. Considering the heat, it was nice to be indoors in the air conditioning. This is what I told myself when I had to drag myself out of bed on a Saturday morning to go be productive. I’m not sure why I was feeling so put upon about it: I still got to sleep in a little bit (as much as it was possible to do so with the sweltering heat), and it was only for a few hours of the afternoon. Our air conditioner has ceased to put out cold air. We could request to have it fixed, but considering that it took them nine months to change the lightbulb over our door, I don’t have high hopes that it will happen before either we move out or the weather cools off.

In spite of the heat I still went for a run. By sundown the weather had begun to cool off enough to summon up a breeze. I hadn’t run for three days due to an hour-and-a-half commute to get home after finishing the working day, so I was looking forward to getting moving again. Three days of rest made for easy running in spite of a few tight muscles and I feel like I might have even gotten up a bit more speed than normal, although I didn’t time myself so I have no way of holding myself accountable for that.

So all in all it was a day of much movement.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
