The Hour


Or as I like to think of it: "plaid vs paisley"

Or as I like to think of it: “plaid vs paisley”

I’ve got an hour to kill before I go running. It’s that mid-afternoon lull- too late in the day to be imbibing coffee, but late enough that I’ve used up all my small-and-easy tasks to get me going. And it’s hot so all I want to do is sleep.

I just finished another library book: “Left Brain, Right Stuff” by Phil Rosenzweig which is all about complex decision-making and how it should be a combination of careful analysis (left brain) and supreme confidence (right stuff). The concept is interesting, but the chapters begin to fall into a predictable pattern:

  • Here are some examples of tests done about various aspects of decision-making
  • Here is what those tests prove about common decision-making errors.
  • Guess what! These tests are ALL WRONG.
  • My way is better.

I exaggerate- the overall point of the book is that complex decisions must sometimes be made with emphasis on completely different priorities than simpler decisions, but each chapter seemed to take an interest in showing what discoveries had been made about simpler decision-making processes only to dismiss them as useless. Or, at least, useless to complex decision-making. Sometimes. But also sometimes helpful.

Anyway, it was a good read and made some good points. I finished it pretty quickly, which is good because the library just sent a reminder that all of my books are due on Friday and typically non-fiction takes me a lot longer to get through than fiction. I think I might need some good fiction now, though, to build up my momentum again and to replenish my inspiration. Not to be too right brained about it, but sometimes I need to feel things more than I need to think about them.

Now back to spending my days at home, I’m trying to keep up my good work-habits. Job search. Housekeeping. Writing diligently. This last one is the one I’m floundering it a bit today: I only managed to stay focused for about four hours spread out over the eight hour day. Maybe now that I’ve written my requisite post for the day I will dedicate the remaining time before my run to some transcribing: it won’t be my most creative work, but it will get the words down on paper. Every little bit helps.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 2, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
