Clean Low


I might've hit a bit of a wall....

For a while I thought I’d hit a bit of a wall….

I made it home early enough to be able to get out for a run for a change. After a week of not running there were two ways that this could have gone: fast and painless from being well rested or slow and excruciating from being out of practice. Luckily for me it was a run of the fast and painless variety: from the first step my legs felt like they were spring-loaded. I can only surmise that this is the result of all my recent lifting-and-carrying efforts.

Running itself may have been painless, but the process of moving house continues to be a litany of aches. My body is covered with bruises. I don’t know where they came from. There’s a big purple one across the back of one leg and a splotchy one on the meaty part of one buttock. I don’t recall hitting the back of my leg or my buttock. But then that seems to be the way my body likes to handle bruising: they only seem to show up for impacts that I don’t remember. All the times that I hit something hard and think that it should bruise because damnit it hurt enough for a bruise then it doesn’t. I got beaned quite hard on the bridge of my nose with a wooden shelf while trying to set up a folding bookcase and it didn’t even leave a mark. Probably good, though, since it’s my face.

If the past two days was spent up on a ladder to clean upper cupboards then today was spent on hands and knees to clean and paper the lower cupboards. In order to reach the back of the lowest shelves I had to prostrate myself on the floor, which was gross but needed to be done. The kitchen is nearly ready for move-in and I was able to start on the hallway closets for a change. Maybe I’ll actually get around to cleaning a room soon.

So progress is steady, but still infuriatingly slow. I did, however, get a few email leads from friends and former employers about possible jobs coming up. This is a much more satisfactory way to job hunt compared to blindly submitting a resume through an online listing. I want to be hopeful, but I have too much on my mind to dwell on it: if they come in, great, if not then I’ve got plenty to do to uproot my life and move it across the city.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
