Little Bits


It wasn’t a day in which I did a lot of any one thing, but I did a little bit of many things. It’s not a very satisfying way to spend a day, but it’s a good way to take care of the small things that are easy to neglect. I unpacked some boxes. I did a little organizing in the workshop. I did a little writing ( which just autocorrected to “worrying”… Which is also true.) I did a little job hunting. I went grocery shopping. I finally put away all the leftover supplies from the Labor Day party. 
So cumulatively it was a productive day, although it didn’t feel like it at the time. 

Part way through the day I ran across another thread of sadness over the professor who passed away several weeks ago. I suddenly found myself sitting at my computer crying and struggling to pull myself together before the plumber arrived to fix the toilet. Afterwards, I was fine for the rest of the day. 

The plumber came, the toilet was fixed. I spent some time visiting with my sister. I unpacked some books. This last is truly a sign that we are reaching the final stages of our unpacking since it means that we are finally getting around to filling the bookshelves. 

But it doesn’t make for a very newsworthy day. Days like these are the days that get edited out of scripts and stories, or which get glossed over in a montage. So I’m currently in a montage stage of life. Hopefully it is building to an exciting scene in the future.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 9, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
