Run Again


Soon…


Yesterday we got the toilet fixed: it was slowly leaking a pool of water around its base and it needed a new wax seal. Today the other toilet sprang a leak- exact same place, but a much bigger puddle because… who knows, maybe it was feeling left out from all the attention the other toilet was getting and wanted to compensate. We’ve lived here for two weeks and the plumber has been called three times- going on four. This is starting to feel like some kind of cosmic joke, like we’ve upset some plumbing god and are being smited (smitten?) with leaks and seeps and cold showers and incompatible hookups at every turn.

Yay. 

On the plus side, we did change out the kitchen faucet ourselves for a taller, single lever version which is so much easier to use. Pitchers fit under it. I can now change the temperature with a nudge of my wrist. Water no longer splashes everywhere because it no longer comes out of the faucet with the force of god. One step forward, one step back. 

After an afternoon spent doing things around the house, I decided it was time to get back in the habit of running. It has been weeks since I last ran, and I still didn’t know much of the neighborhood to have figured out a route. With the help of Google I mapped a route that was close to three miles, but was slightly longer than my usual route. I decided I would try it: I could always turn back early. 

For not having run for weeks, I did pretty well. I made good time and I only occasionally got that blood taste in my mouth. Hopefully it will be the start of a good habit. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
