TGIF


For all my worries, the day went well. Now I can enjoy my weekend, looking forward to Monday and Tuesday instead of dreading it. I was reception-ing ( receptionist-ing? Receipting?) at a management company for actors and writers. I’d learned about management companies during my graduate studies, but, like agencies, they were a distant legendary land only described through tales which sometimes seemed more than a bit like campfire stories. So it was my first time observing one in real life. One day in and I’m fascinated. It helps that everybody that I met was perfectly lovely and understanding as I tried to absorb names and faces at lightning speed. I think I know about sixty percent now. I made myself a list to help try to catch up on the rest over the weekend. 

The ability to memorize names and put them to faces is, I’m learning, a make or break part of a good impression. Right now, on these short gigs, I can be forgiven a little slowness, but it is going to be worthwhile for me to learn how to memorize names the minute I’m introduced.

The day did involve phones, but it was a perfectly manageable amount of phone answering. Mostly, all I had to do was redirect the calls to other people to handle. I didn’t get any writing done, but I didn’t really expect to. And I had plenty to keep my mind occupied. 

On that note, my brains are pretty saturated so that’s all I’m going to write for today. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 16, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
