Walking in LA


I made it to work nearly a full hour early, so I decided to do a very un-LA thing and walk to the bank in order to deposit some checks. It turns out that the nearest bank was a full mile away. For a minute or two I dithered: I could walk a mile in about twenty minutes- accounting for a little bit of time once I got there to execute the transactions then I had enough time to get there and back. Just.

So I hot-footed it up the block and back. Luckily for me, it was before the heat really set in for the day. My backup plan was to do it over lunch which would have involved making the hike in ninety degree heat and direct midday sunshine. I was glad for the exercise, although my feet are telling a different story at the moment, and I was glad to get one task off my mind for the day.

It was a day full of fluttering thoughts and big existential questions. There didn’t seem to be any middle ground. Big thoughts or fluff. A lot of that fluff was kicked up when I looked back at my list of goals for the month and once again discovered that most of them have been blasted out of the water by other work. I’d complain, but the other work was what I was really hoping for in the first place. Still, I continue to carry a large number of tasks from month to month without ever seeming to make progress on them. And now, working full time, I’ll have even less time to dedicate to them. I can pretty much accomplish one thing a day. Maybe two if I can get one done before I leave in the morning. Three if I do one over lunch. So I’ll really need to get focused for the remaining months of the year. There are a few projects that I just can’t carry into the new year and now is the time to be grinding them out.

I also realized, with regret, that I haven’t called home in several weeks. What’s worse, is it had gone completely out of my mind: there was no niggling sensation of “there’s something I’m supposed to be doing, I just can’t think of it”. Nope. Just completely forgot about calling home. In some ways I feel like I’m pretty up-to-date on the news: my folks put in a new patio and for a while we were getting daily photo updates of the progress, so that felt like being in touch, but it’s different than actually setting aside time to chat. I’ll have to set aside time this weekend for it.

Anyway, the week is off to a solid start. With luck the momentum will stay good.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
