A Newcomer



There’s a tiny human growing inside my sister.

 I’ve known this for a while now I mean, not as long as she’s known it, obviously, but I didn’t want to say anything until they made an official announcement. Which they did yesterday. It’s Facebook official: they’re expecting a baby, due in the spring.

The news brings some interesting new thought patterns to life: soon I’ll be an Aunt, which is to say that soon I’ll be a blood Aunt ( doesn’t that like a horror script waiting to be written) instead of an in-law Auntie. And as the nearest relative, geographically speaking, I’m likely to be the go to babysitter a lot of the time which will mean front row seats to the child-rearing show (which sounds like a rodeo). 

I’m looking forward to it, if for no other reason than because I haven’t gotten to spend a lot of time around small children for a while and I’m curious to find out if my level of patience will be higher with a child that I’m related to compared to my level of patience with the children of strangers which is directly proportional to the amount of noise that they make. I also look forward to casting myself in the role of eccentric aunt. Probably not The Cool Aunt or The Fun Aunt, but I can see The Eccentric Aunt being a thing.
Well, one way or another, it’ll be an interesting journey. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 7, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
