It was full dark when I stepped out the door for the morning- a first. Partly this was due to the time: I needed to leave myself enough time to refill my transit card. Partly it was because the skies were still cloudy.  We had received another two minutes and thirty seconds of morning rain during the pre-dawn, so it seemed wise to leave early to compensate for the inevitable traffic delays from the Angeleno drivers who Lose Their Damn Minds in the face of wet roads.  At any rate, I’m going to need to start carrying a flashlight.

The roads are dry now but the sky is still overcast and the traffic is still slow. I hope that after a weekend of such deep introspection that I can get on with making some progress towards various projects. I suppose that the first step is to choose which project I plan to commit to. There are a few that are still big enough to be intimidating to the point where it is easier to put them off than to face them full on. But considering how quickly October is slipping away, I’m going to need to change that attitude PDQ if I don’t want to be carrying them over into the new year. Even so, I find myself tempted to take on new projects for the novelty and ambition of it. Sigh. It was this kind of thing that got me into trouble in the first place. 

Ahh well. Live and learn.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 24, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
