How It Ends


Everybody wants a happy ending.


I didn’t have the strength of nerves to watch game seven of the World Series. I hadn’t had the strength to watch any of the games, in fact, out of an irrational fear that the very act of witnessing the game would prevent any chance of victory- and one hundred and eight years was quite enough: I wanted a victory. 

Just because I couldn’t bear to watch didn’t mean that I was above checking in on Facebook to see the reactions of everyone else who was watching. I think it’s safe to say that this was one for the storybooks: a seven game master class in the art of suspense and raising the stakes and keeping the pressure on until the bitter, bitter end. From three games down to game seven on a non-home field, from a lead to a tie to a reason delay to extra innings to a single, final out making the Cubs victors by a single point. I’ve seen thrillers with less dramatic tension.

I have to admire the Cleveland Indians too: what worthy opponents! What a perfect example of how an antagonist doesn’t have to be a villain. As we watch the political climate veer into the extremes of villainizing one another’s opponents, it is fitting that baseball should be the reminder that the game gets infinitely better when both teams deserve to win.

Now that it’s over and I know how it ends, I’m learning just how much I value knowing how a drama of such suspense resolves. We always talk about not spoiling the ending of a story, but there is a little part of us that wants to know it will all work out alright in the end. I suspect this is because there is no such certainty of a happy resolution in real life. 

At any rate, I’m delighted that the curse has been broken, and look forward to finding out what comes next.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 3, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
