Good Luck Bad Luck


It turns out that I was unlucky and chose a post office that was closed on Saturday, but I’d already put twenty minutes on the parking meter and it seemed like a waste to just drive away in defeat. Looking around I saw a resale shop nearby and figured that I had nothing to lose by going inside. It wasn’t a thrift store, as such, but rather the kind of clothing store that accepts select clothing in select styles and resells them cheap(er) than resale. I found a few things that looked like likely candidates for my wardrobe and bought them without trying them on. It turns out that I got lucky and every single piece fit.

This was my luck all day. Bad luck. Good luck! Bad luck. Good luck!

Now it’s late and I’m trying to write something quick so that I can go to bed, but all my thoughts from the day are scattered and fragmentary. For example: I learned that the plant growing in the back flower bed is a Shamrock plant and that it can’t just be uprooted because it grows out of these bulbs. I learned that when I water the garden it is only getting the top inch or so of the dirt wet because everything beneath that is as hard as cement. How anything can grow at all is astonishing to me.  I went running after two weeks of not getting out for a run and did pretty well in spite of the feeling that I might die. I did three loads of laundry. It’s an exciting life that I lead.

Anyway, that’s all for tonight. I’ll try to do better tomorrow.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
