Thrift Video: Coming Soon


thrift.video

thrift.video  <— That’s the website if you want to know more.

Well, I’ve talked about it for months now, couched in vague tones about an “animated series” and “character design” without ever offering up any proof that I was working on a real project and not just making it all up as I went along.  Anyway, here’s your proof: I present THRIFT VIDEO! An animated comedy series set to premier on Sunday November 29th like the fever dream from improperly cooked Thanksgiving stuffing.

So there’s this guy, Dan, right? Who goes looking for work and gets a job at a video rental store called Thrift Video where he meets Dave, who may or may not be a cthulhu (not The Cthulhu, just a cthulu), and Nate, who is definitely a mole but may or may not exist outside of the laws of interspace dimensionality. At the pizza parlor next door is Dr Childs: a weasel with a human head, Clowner, an animatronic robot clown who has a life of his own and Kaela, a feminist. It is just as terrifying as it sounds. Also there is a portal. No one knows where it leads.

It’s a strange beast, but I’m getting to be pretty fond of it. Anyway, I’m committed now: my drawing board is littered with scraps of paper with scribbled notes along the lines of: uzi- firing and not firing, pistol, cake box open/closed, bottle labeled “Tranq” & “Sleep”, donkey, and shit. I’m pretty sure that this was a list of props that I needed to draw, and not evidence of a secret double life as a spy. *Pretty* sure.  

So this is how I’ve been using my powers. I’m still not sure whether it counts as “for good” or “for evil”, but I suppose I won’t know that until we find out how much money it makes. On a completely unrelated note, there’s this site called Kickstarter… and for a small donation I won’t mention it again.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
