Route Home


I’ve been taking the bus to work for almost two months now, but today was my first time taking the bus home. Due to the holiday, the office where I’m working closed early. A pleasure, to be sure, but it meant that my usual routine of catching a ride home with the Curmudgeonly Lion wasn’t going to be an option. On the plus side, it did mean that I was able to attempt the new route during daylight instead of trying to reverse engineer a route at night. 

I made it home while the sun was still up and siezed the opportunity to get out for a run. This seemed like good preparation for tomorrow’s day of feasting. Thanksgiving has kind of snuck up on me this year: I’ve seen it coming, but somehow haven’t been able to get into the spirit of things. It’s not that I’m not thankful for things- if anything I’m making an effort to be more conscious of the little, good moments in the present: hot showers, blue skies, fresh food. But somehow the whole business of the turkey dinner has failed to inspire much enthusiasm. At least not yet: that might change once I smell the turkey cooking. 

I feel like I should be setting aside more time for reflection, although I don’t know when that is going to happen- tomorrow is going to be dedicated to the ritual act of Cleaning House For Guests (the only way it ever gets truly clean). I’ll have to make an effort to give it some thought.

Anyway, that’s all for tonight.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
