Pain in the Neck


I was awoken out of a deep sleep by the pain from my neck going out. As far as I know, I didn’t move or twist in any way- being in a state of dreaming at the time, making it an utterly spontaneous pain in the neck. Bolts of pain shot up and down my back as well as out across my clavicles every time I took a breath. For a moment, all I could do was lay there. 
When I finally got it straight in my head that a. this was real and not a dream and b. that it was actually quite severe and not just a momentary pinch, I forced myself with great effort to get out of bed and take a fist full of Advil and pull an ice pack out of the freezer. For the rest of the night I lay still, going in and out of sleep as the pain cycled me through various stages of wakefulness. If I held myself very still, there was no problem, but even the slightest shift would light up my back and shoulders. 

I managed to force myself upright around mid morning. More Advil. More ice packs. Same amount of pain. We had breakfast and ran a few errands in an attempt to get moving even just a little bit. After a while, though, I couldn’t even turn my head and I was slowly settling into a hunch that I couldn’t seem to pull myself upright from. I made it home and collapsed ever so carefully onto the bed and have been there ever since. 

So my plans for the day have been pretty well shot, not that they were anything exciting to begin with, just a bunch of cleaning and catching up that I needed to do. I need to do it, but I’m not sure I have the capacity to stay upright for long enough to actually accomplish any of it. I’m still lying still right now, but I’m going to have to force myself up again soon to try to address my grumbling stomach.Maybe I’ll attempt a load of laundry since once I get it loaded I can rest again while it washes. That will be at least one accomplishment for the day. Won’t be much but it’ll be something.

All I can do is hope that all this sleep and advil and the early ice will help it clear up quickly.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
