The cat tried to play it cool about how much he enjoyed the musical numbers.


It got to be four thirty in the afternoon and I realized that I just wasn’t going to get out for a run. All I’d worked in all day was artwork- making good progress, but not actually finishing enough to cross the task off of my list. I badly needed a break but it was already too dark to go running- my second weekend in a row without any exercise. I reminded myself that with Christmas next weekend, it may be another two weeks before I finally have a chance to get out again- a solid month of heavy-duty indulging with no exercise. Ugh. 

I’d made it through the Broadway Cast recording of “Hamilton”, twice, and decided itv was time to get away from the drawing board for a while. My sister, Bean, introduced me to the soundtrack- I was already aware of the show, both due to the hype and due to the fact that one of the actresses, Philippa Soo, who plays Eliza Hamilton, went to high school with my other sister, Filbert. So it’s been on my radar for quite a while, but I’d never actually seen or heard the show. A rap musical about the founding fathers? Doesn’t that sound like a plot device from a nineties feel good family movie about a white teacher trying to make history cool for inner city kids. But the music is really quite excellent and dense with information, so it took me about a week and a half to make it all the way through to the end. I realize, to my chagrin, that I am most like the Aaron Burr character: talk less, smile more, wait for it, etc., and I can only hope that my own story won’t cast me in the role of antagonist to someone else’s hero. But, of course, the show it’s called ‘Hamilton’ not ‘Burr’, so someone’s got to be the villan.

Then again, I’m not exactly fighting a revolution or trying to govern a fledgling democracy- I’m trying to finish up Christmas presents and draw characters for an animated series, so I’ve got a ways to go before anything I do merits a rap musical.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 18, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
