Celebrations


After the rains came the wind, and after the wind came a clear cold day. I stepped outside long enough to throw some kitchen scraps in the bucket for the compost pile and came back inside trying to shake off the chill. Cold out there. What was I going to think when I made it back to Chicago?

It was a day spent focused on crossing things off the to do list. As the last ( yikes!) weekend before Christmas, there was plenty to be done and I had the “deadline” of having my dad and sister and brother-in-law coming over for dinner to keep me on task. Progress was made. Bathrooms got cleaned. It’s a glamorous life I lead. 

Yesterday was a glamorous day: the holiday party for the company where I am currently temping. This consisted of a dinner at a restaurant in Beverly Hills, complete with an exchanging of gifts. I received a scarf from my secret Santa which is so soft that every time I walk past it I have to touch it, and a bracelet that reads “count your blessings”, which I’m wearing right now. Funnily enough, just before I was given the bracelet, I had been sitting at the party thinking about how lucky I was to be there- it’s a marvelous group of people, especially to include ‘just a temp’ in their gathering. I can only hope that I will someday be able to do the same for others. 

In the meantime, we practiced by having family over for dinner: a smaller gathering, but one that we’re starting to get the hang of hosting. The Curmudgeonly Lion made an enormous vat of pasta sauce which will no doubt be feeding us well into January, and we cut chatted and exchanged a few gifts that we weren’t going to get to open on Christmas due to travel plans. This whole month had just become one long Christmas, which is fine by me: more the merrier. 

So there has been much socializing and festivities, and more yet to come! 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 18, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
