Fillin’


Yup. Christmas is over.

Nothing says “Your holidays are now over” quite like getting up early to go to the dentist to get a filling done. I’m not sure I’ve ever had a formal filing before: I know I’ve had teeth sealed against pre- cavities, but I don’t recall ever having drilling in the past. 
I was pleased to discover that the procedure was painless: if there were ever a reason to want to live in the present day over some perceived golden age of the past then modern, painless dentistry would be it. It has, however, taken several hours for me to stop speaking out of the side of my mouth like a villan from a noir film. But, hey, I’ll take that over the alternative. 

So between jet lag and time changes and a holiday weekend full of late nights, rich food, and other indulgences, plus a dentist appointment, I might be forgiven for being a tiny bit off my game. Luckily, it is likely to be a quiet week with New Year’s still on the horizon. My hope is that I’ll be able to find some balance and start building some new habits for the new year. It might be nice to finish unpacking boxes left over from the move, for instance. Or finally getting around to hemming the curtains in the dining room. Among other things. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 27, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
