Day One, Again


 

It turns out that staying up late, boozing with my cats, makes me pop awake an hour before my alarm goes off. Who knew? I may need to rethink my concept of Responsible Bedtime Rituals associated with adulthood. It wasn’t even light out when I got out of bed, but I was awake so there didn’t seem to be much point in lying around trying to pretend like I was still sleeping. I began the day with a bowl of cereal while reading “My Teacher Is An Alien”, because there didn’t seem to be any point in being any more grown up than I absolutely had to.

I made up for it with the rest of the day by tidying the studio and organizing all my bills and archiving all my documents from 2016 so that I could have a clear desk for the new year. It’s clear-ish now, anyway: there are still stacks of paper all around the room that the cats are sitting on in a steady rotation.  It took longer than I care to admit: considering that I’ve had the whole day to myself I didn’t get as much done as I’d hoped, but I feel good about the progress that I did make.

Part of the problem is that the sun still sets around five in the evening, so if I want to go running I have to drop everything and get out the door before the sun sets. And once the sun sets all I want to do is watch television and veg. I did, once again, manage to make it out the door to go running: today to clear skies and favorable (if chilly) weather. I expected to see a lot more people on the bike path making an effort to get started on their New Years fitness resolutions, but I mostly had the path to myself. I was pleased to discover that I was able to make it back home before full darkness fell: which either means that I’ve gotten a lot faster in the past few weeks while I wasn’t running or the days are getting incrementally longer.

Speaking of resolutions, here are some of the goals I’m hoping to work on this year:

  1. Stretch every day. (I hate stretching. I’m not a naturally limber person and I’m only getting more crabbed and cramped the older I get.)
  2. Take better care of my skin. ( Which includes: not picking at it, moisturizing every day, and being even more dedicated to wearing sunscreen).
  3. Take better care of my nails. (Which includes: not picking at them, keeping them trimmed, and possibly seeing what all this fuss about nail polish is all about.)
  4.  Eat five servings of vegetables each day. Ideally including a dark, leafy green and a yellow vegetable. (This is going to be a hard one (that’s what she said) because I had trouble managing to eat three servings a day last year, but one that I think is worth the effort.)
  5. Call home once a week.
  6. Brush twice a day and floss.
  7. Run 500 miles over the course of the year.

A few of these are repeats from last year, but are habits that are worth keeping up with. I still need to figure out what my artistic and career goals are for the year: I’m still ruminating on what I want to accomplish and how best to turn it into an actionable goal that I can work on every day. They’ll come to me and in the meantime I have plenty of other work to keep me busy.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 1, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
