Muse


How does ‘Terpsichore’ sound for a girls name? Inspired!

Somehow I mucked up the timer for the dining room light. We’d set it so that there would be a light on when we got home in these dark, winter evenings instead of groping blindly in the dark after walking in the front door. Last night, though, it didn’t come on until nearly ten in the evening. I went to bed figuring that it would go off when it’s usual interval was up, but it was still on when I woke up in the morning: burning through the night like an oversized nightlight. 
I’m not sure what I did, exactly, but I do know when I did it: Monday morning when I was using the dining room table as a sewing table and I needed the extra light to work by. I realize now that there is a switch on top of the timer that I could have used to turn it on and off, but at the time ( also, in the dark) I figured I would have to unplug it in order to get some work light. I diligently updated the time when I plugged it back in, and I failed to notice any problems that evening, possibly because I spent most of it in the studio working on artwork for an upcoming Thrift Video episode

Inspecting it this morning, I think I somehow got the switch out of synch with my intended times, so that it was turning on when it was supposed to turn off and turning off when it should’ve been turning on. If the light is on when I get home tonight, I’ll know that I’ve fixed it. 

I suppose this is one of the perils of spending all my time in the studio in the evenings. First it was artwork for Thrift Video, now it is concept art for a horror film and many happy hours rendering out nightmare creatures of which I’ve grown rather improbably fond. They are my little nightmares, after all. 

I still struggle with the impulse to spend all my time writing: this is largely the reason that I find myself staying up to all hours of the night after spending the primetime hours working on various chores and obligations. Not the world’s best habit to get into, but my Muse is fickle and easily insulted, so I strive to make time for them. Her? Him? Are muses allowed to be male? I know the Greek muses are female, but then again most of the Greek poet/philosophers/artists were men, so this makes sense: a way of keeping balance In the zeitgeist. (Incidentally, autocorrect thinks ‘zeitgeist’ should be corrected to either ‘druggie’ or ‘rightist’. Cool it with the editorial commentary, autocorrect!) 

At any rate, it seems reasonable to assume that if men have female muses then women would have male muses. Shouldn’t it? I’m not sure how this reasoning plays out with non- binary individuals, although I suppose them/they pronouns work for anybody ( and are now considered grammatically acceptable for a singular gender neutral pronoun, by the way). And does one’s sexual orientation inform one’s muses? Does all creative impulse derive from our sexual instincts or do our sexual instincts derive from our creative impulse? Which is greater? Can there be one without the other? I mean, I like to think I can find inspiration without turning on the black lights and disco balls in my brain, but then again I’m only human. One thing is for certain: my habitual use of the phrase “the muse is upon me” to express a especially inspired days work suddenly gets a whole heck of a lot more suggestive if I start referring to my muse as ‘he’.  Why, I am a married woman! *Adjusts cameo pin on high collared shirt*

Muse don’t care. Muse does what he wants. 

Anyway, that turned into an unexpected rabbit hole. Inspired to explore inspiration: how meta. My muse is a goddamn hipster. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 4, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
