Wall Art



Anybody got a wall? 

The more portraits that I draw of the people that I see on the bus, the more I feel like they belong in some kind of classical biblical scene painted by one of the Renaissance masters. Or perhaps by Oroszco; considering that this is Southern California and nobody does wall art like a Mexican muralist. The poses of public transit commuters seems to echo the repose of the saints and evangelists in the stained glass windows of the great cathedrals. There is somehow something sublime about these otherwise mundane individuals: reading and at rest, engaged in quiet devotion to phones and devices- everybody listening to the music that only they can hear. Who is to say that the figures of faith have to come from times past, wearing the gowns and robes of another era? Perhaps we are ourselves among the divine waiting only for our own moment of recognition amongst the mundane. 

I have always wanted to paint a mural, although, of course, I don’t have a wall to put it on. Up until now I’ve never had a sense of what that mural would depict.  Now I think I’ve finally begun to recognize the people around me as the figures who most deserve the immortality of public art. Maybe someday I’ll be able to make this a reality. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
