Every time the bus makes a right hand turn, water drops down from the overhead hatch and drips into my lap. I’m using this as an excuse to peruse my phone instead of writing like I should be. You would think that I would be a lot more motivated to write during this morning free time, considering that the rest of my day is going to be spent stuffing envelopes with tax documents. It’s not a difficult task, but the sheet volume of it makes it monumental. When I stop to consider that this represents only a miniscule fraction of all the tax paperwork that must be managed in order for taxes to be filled and paid, I can hardly wrap my mind around the volume of paperwork that has to be processed by the country as a whole. 

Stuffing envelopes means I once again have plenty of time to let my mind wander, but lately it has been content to walk in slow circles staring at the ground and wondering when lunch will be. I wish that I could say that it was actually thinking thoughts too deep for me to tap into them while still remaining effective at my job, but really I think it is just enjoying doing nothing. I keep trying to tempt it out in the open with books and music and shows and games, but no: it just wants to be left alone. When I try too hard to force it, it retaliates with such intense sleepiness that I have to rededicate all of my focus to the task of staying awake. Cruel move, brain, cruel move. 

So I’m in a holding pattern at the moment. Hopefully it’s just temporary.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 19, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
