Day Away


After a day away from social media, I find myself much clearer headed, although I still find myself reaching reflexively for my phone in moments of boredom. I don’t really have a plan for how long I expect this abstention to last, but for now it seems to be doing me good. That said, having less distraction and more time to think does not seem to have helped me to find inspiration. At least, not yet. So I apologize in advance if this turns out to be a rather dull post. 

It took nearly two hours to get home last night after work. No matter what road we tried to take we found ourselves confronted with brake lights and congestion. At a certain point we just had to resign ourselves to the fact that it was going to be nearly eight o clock at night before we got off the road. It was one of those days where, if we’d known the commute was going to be so bad we might’ve gone ahead and found someplace to eat close to the office and try to drive home after commuter hour died down. 

I’m learning a new system at work and it is taking a while to get the hang of it. I don’t know for sure that it’s an ancient program, but it feels like an ancient system: a black interface with a glowing blue cursor that can only be navigated with a series of variable key commands. I’m sure the process will feel simple once I’ve internalized it, but for now it is an exercise in rote memorization that is taking up a lot of my faculties. Some processes are just a matter of quality control double checking of data, but the closer I get to any process which might involve  money, the slower I get as the fear of making a mistake overtakes my usual desire for efficiency. I suppose that’s a good thing, but I’m sure it must make me seem like an infuriatingly slow learner. 

At any rate, I hear that next week will be a busy one for the new system, so at least I have a few days to get myself up to speed.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
