Skill Builder


I retreated to the sanctuary of academia for the day to take a workshop on directing in the hopes of becoming better at communicating with actors. It is a two day workshop so I’ll be going back tomorrow, but it was lovely to just get out of the turmoil of the world for a little while. The turmoil was still there when I got out. 

It’s too soon to say whether this will make me a better director. I probably won’t know until I try to work with actors again, but it certainly felt like it was opening up something. I’m not sure if I could say what. I felt fine throughout the whole day until the minute that I walked out and then I suddenly felt conflicted and uncomfortable. About what? I don’t know. I keep asking myself that question: why am I feeling such unease and self consciousness? Was it discomfort at criticism? Was it fatigue from such a day of intensive focus? Was it from meeting so many new people and working to try so many things that I’ve never done before in an environment where other people are watching me work?  It was probably due to all of these things. That still doesn’t make it anymore configurable. My best prescription at the moment is to get s good night’s sleep. So I guess I’ll do that now.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 28, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
