Broken Blessings


One. Ah. Ah. Ah.


The bracelet was a gift from the company holiday party: a silver colored band with the words “Count Your Blessings” stamped into it. I put it on the minute that I got it and never took it off again. I was aware that this was not an item of fine jewelry: it was a piece of costume jewelry with a faintly inspirational message sunken into the soft, pot metal that I’d become rather sentimental about. I hadn’t anticipated any gift at all from the holiday party, being just a temp. I hadn’t even expected to attend the party. Getting a gift, even a token one, seemed like a blessing worth counting. It’s the thought that counts.

Yesterday, the bracelet broke. A crack had formed across the “r” of “your” and I’d been  watching it progress it’s way across the band for some time. It was just a matter of time. Now, though, I don’t quite know what to do with the pieces. It seems a shame to just throw them away, but on the other hand there’s not much to be done with broken blessings. Maybe I can bend the pieces into rings. 

I suppose there is something to be said about the transience of blessings. Not all gifts are meant to last: isn’t that the essential contradiction of life? We strive to live fully because we know we have only a short time in which to do it. It is the thought that counts because it is only the thought that will last.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 2, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
