I spent about an hour digging up weeds from around the base of a rose bush in the front yard. The rose bush did not appreciate having its privacy invaded and spent the whole ordeal hooking its thorns into the sleeves of my sweater, but it’ll thank me when it starts getting ask those nutrients that the crab grass was monopolizing. Aside from the rose bushes, the front lawn consists of nothing but weeds and dead sod, so I either have my work cut out for me to finish weeding the entire space or I should just let it do its thing and enjoy the greenery, no matter what kind of plant it comes from. 

If I’m going to stick with this weeding business, though, I’m definitely going to need to limber up: by the time I went running my back was so stiff I could barely move. I’m surprised that I’m not more sore now, but it’s early still- it could still catch up with me. 

What time wasn’t spent weeding or running was spent painting the new kitchen cabinets with a first coat of primer. I’d half expected to get a second coat done as well, but the weather proved to be too humid to allow the paint to dry in a timely enough fashion. Lol: I just realized that my day consisted of watching paint dry and grass grow. It’s an exciting life I lead.

I did catch the end of the Superbowl, mostly listening to the play-by-play from the other room as I worked on getting dinner ready. It wasn’t a game that I was particularly invested in, and, in fact, I missed most of the broadcast by going to a coffee shop to meet with an actor friend instead. I have no regrets about this. The Curmudgeonly Lion was kind enough to record the halftime show for me, so I got to see the Gagapalooza, which was a hell of a song and dance routine. 

And after that I felt myself sinking into a strange and unmotivated sense of ennui: nothing felt quite right, but I couldn’t tell you what was wrong either. The night was spent close to the surface, not quite waking but not quite sleeping either. The feeling persists this morning. It feels like something is coming- I couldn’t say what it is, only that I have an overwhelming feeling of something looming on the horizon, and I wonder how long it will take to arrive. For now, though, it is business as usual. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
