Yay Boo


Oh, I’m sorry were you celebrating?

I hope you will forgive the radio silence. The past two and a half weeks proved to be a marathon of conflicting impulses in the best way possible. Family visiting, movie screenings, directing workshops, overtime at work… Oh, and writing a feature script. Which I completed.

Pardon me while I brag for thirty seconds: I don’t finish things very often. In fact, this is the first time I’ve ever completed an original feature length script. (I’ve written a feature length script before, but it was an adaptation and I can’t take the credit for breaking the story). And frankly, two and a half weeks feels like record time to me. Maybe I could’ve gotten it done faster if I’d worked on it full time instead of in the stolen hours of late night and early morning around everything else, but I’m convinced that it was only because I had so much else going on that I got it done so fast: I couldn’t waste a lot of time on dithering. Done is better than good. The magic is in the rewrites anyway.

That said, I’m still pleased. I didn’t really get to celebrate, though: I finished the draft, saved it as a pdf, prepared for a victory lap, and had my attention immediately redirected to a fist sized lump growing on the cat’s back leg. Poor guy looks like he’s wearing renaissance bloomers on one side. I didn’t know what it was and it was too late to call a vet- I was going to have to wait until the morning anyway to try to get an appointment, so all I could do was stew about it and worry about it being The Cancer and how much it was going to get It treated whatever It turns out to be.  I have an appointment for him tomorrow. I’m trying to not stress about it preemptively, and mostly failing, but I’m making the effort, anyway.

So that took some of the wind out of my sails, which is why I think it’s just fine to brag for a minute or two here. I accomplished something. I’ve been trying to complete an original script since I was fourteen. Darn tootin’ I want to acknowledge it.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
