Passing Time


A bit on the nose, don’t you think?


Unable to think of anything to write about besides the cat or my script, both of which have been occupying most of my brain space lately, I closed my eyes for a bit. When I opened them again, I could see the writing on the wall. The clock is ticking, it read in unambiguous black letters. I realized it was a company tagline on the side of an overnight truck outside tv’s window of the bus, but I couldn’t help but feel like it was a hint. 

I’ve certainly become very aware of time slip, slip, slipping into the future of late. The fleetingness of our present moments has become very present ( no pun intended) in my mind lately, but, being merely human, I find it impossible to stop time, so I find myself struggling to come to terms with my own helplessness. Mostly I deal with this through avoidance (when I can keep myself busy) and tears (when I can’t). Or by sleeping- another form of avoidance, I suppose.  The clock is ticking, but there’s nothing I can do to stop it. 

I presume that the lesson from this is to use every moment wisely since time itself is fleeting and finite. It’s certainly a sentiment I agree with, but who among us has never wasted time or killed time or procrastinated or otherwise let time slip away? I certainly have. How much do I wish I could reclaim those moments of boredom and mindlessness for something productive?  Then again, how often do I regret spending time and attention on a task that I now can’t remember at the expense of spending it, unstructured, in the company of loved ones? I suppose that is the paradox of mortality: knowing that there are many ways to use your time and never having enough time to choose all of them. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 14, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
