Yellow Bamboo


Show, don’t tell.

I didn’t think it was possible to kill lucky bamboo: even for me, with my black thumb of death, but it turns out I was wrong. We were gifted a pair of Lucky Bamboo stalks as a housewarming gift from a friend, which I brought home and set on my drawing board to keep the cats from eating the leaves off of them. Within a week, one of them had turned an unmistakable and unhealthy shade of yellow. The other one was fine. Same container, same water, but one was happy and healthy and the other was quickly dying. 

It feels like a rather unsubtle visual metaphor for my current worry about the cat: I have two, litter-mates, that I got at the same time. They live in the same house and eat the same food, but one of them is happy and healthy and the other is making the slow descent towards the Other Side. Every time I look at the yellowing stalk of the bamboo, I can’t help but think of the cats. 

Somehow, my life has become a student film- a fate that I would wish upon no one. Pretty soon I’ll be drinking Jack Daniels straight from the bottle and leaving myself expository post it notes on the bathroom mirror as I go about my morning routine. Maybe everything will go black and white for a while. 

If our characters were aware that they were living in a story, what would they do?  Would they try to change their destiny? Would they fight over whose story it was? Would they learn how to navigate narrative structure? If we wait long enough, there will be a plot twist! If we make it past the worst of things, there will be a happy ending! Would they start to leave us writing notes? Suggestions on how the story should go? I guess this is why I always kinda liked the movie “Stranger Than Fiction”. I haven’t started hearing the narrator’s voice yet, though, so I guess that’s a good sign. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 17, 2017.

One Response to “Yellow Bamboo”

  1. Could basement cat be lurking about and just when basement cat was going to pounce on Tober to take him to the eternal cat basement, ceiling cat shoots out of the half yellowed bamboo, pooms basement cat twice in the face (one time each paw) and then Tober & ceiling cat rise up, where ceiling cat leads Tober up to the eternal cat ceiling filled with noms, cheeseburgers, and countless places to fits & sits.

    or were you looking for a different type of suggestion…?

Leave a Reply

 
