Reborn


My day as a cat couch.


A cold knocked me flat on my back. I managed one hour and forty five minutes of work on Monday before I snotted through all my tissues and decided to tap out for the rest of the day before my two office mates called the CDC. I sat in the farthest seat on the bus and the other passengers gave me a wide berth. By the time I got home I realized that I’d spent more time commuting to and from work than actually working, but I was too tired to be mad. I retired to bed hoping to sleep for a hundred years, but each time I started to drift off, some treacherous part of my throat would begin to tickle until I coughed and woke myself up. My head was so full of fluid I couldn’t hear, couldn’t breathe, couldn’t taste, couldn’t think. I went to bed and couldn’t sleep. 

Today I elected to just take a personal day. I spent the morning on the couch covered in cats, watching recorded television. Aside from being sick, it was heaven. Sometime around noon I finally fell into a deep sleep that lasted for several hours. I dreamed about eating ramen noodles at the end of the world. I woke up suddenly, straight out of the dream feeling reborn- not just better, but as if I’d been made new. I had energy. I was hungry- ravenous. My head was clear. I got up and did the dishes from the night before and ate soup and brewed coffee. Three hours earlier I couldn’t stand the thought of being upright, now I couldn’t stand the thought of lying down. There was work to be done. 

I can still feel my body clearing away the remnants of the sickness like the leftover confetti from a wild, late night party. It’s not gone yet, but no one is still revelling. I’m not sure I’ve ever felt a cold be defeated with such clarity before. I’m looking forward to getting back on track tomorrow. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 21, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
