Week’s Start


I had thirty minutes. My options were to use them wisely or to go back to bed for a few more minutes of restless, distracted sleep. It had been a night full of convoluted, gothic dreams as my mind struggled to find some way to make the three different films (“Get Out”, “Tomorrowland”, “Crimson Peak”, and maybe just a hint of “Huntsman: Winter War”) and the fragments of three different scripts that I’d read all fit together as a monstrous whole. In my sleeping mind, my human need to find patterns and connections was overriding my instinct to categorize and compartmentalize with some interesting, but mostly inarticulate results. 

So although I slept soundly, apparently through car alarms and barking dogs, I awoke feeling restless and uneasy. Maybe this is why, when faced with thirty minutes of free time, I elected to use it for sorting old digital files and clearing the desktop of my computer. It’s one of those things that I’ve been meaning to to for years and never quite seemed to get around to. And thirty minutes is hardly an in depth inventory of my digital footprint, but at least it felt like a start. 

It’s shaping up to be a busy week: there’s the holiday, of course, and a lot of family will be coming into town. I’m hopeful that the chaos of it all will prompt my creativity and/or motivate me to suddenly get things done around the house. It’s easy to get enthusiastic about a new project- it’s a lot harder to be enthusiastic about getting around to dealing with the stains on the carpet or figuring out where to stash the recycling. 

I’m hopeful that the fact that I’m off to a productive start will portend good things. Positive thoughts.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
