Burning Ends


When the muse calls…


I’m not sure what strange alchemy is allowing me to burn the midnight oil at both ends, so to speak, but I hardly feel justified for complaining: you have to strike while the inspiration is hot. There have been times in my life when nothing has seemed as important as sleep, but at the moment I find myself waiting until the eleventh hour to go to bed (both literally and figuratively) which probably doesn’t sound that late except that I also find myself springing out of bed before the sun comes up to pick up where I left off.  

I guess trying to squeeze all my creative pursuits into these little pockets of time at the twilight ends of the day is the downside to working a day job, but in all honesty, I’m not sure whether having more time would do me any good. I’m a champion procrastinator when the opportunity presents itself. Having narrow windows of free time does seem to keep me on task. And I suspect that no matter how much time I have, I will always have more work that I want to do than time to do it in.

Whatever the reason, the muse is upon me again. Somehow I’ve managed to put about five different irons in the fire: three rewrites and two original concepts at various stages of development are all vying for my attention. The real question will be whether or not I can keep this pace going long enough to do them all justice. 

Speaking of which, I still have about half a commute left, so it’s time to get back to work. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 3, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
