Fallowminded


Maybe I’ll just stare at this wall for a while…

After two weeks of intensive writing, I completed the rewrite of the script that has been occupying my every waking hour of late. Now it feels strange to get on the bus and not immediately bury myself in scene notes and plot structure and character arcs. It feels strange to sit on the couch and think “actually, yes, I could watch a whole movie without feeling guilty right now”. 

I’m also waiting for the other shoe to drop: to get sick or to discover a lump on the cat or to discover another leak in the house… All the small misfortunes that I pushed to the edges of my attention in an effort to stay on task. On one hand, I’m pleased to discover this new ability to grind my way through a complete draft of a script, but on the other hand I’m discovering that it does take up every ounce of my attention. By the time I’m done I have to yank all the wires out of my mental patch-bay and start re-routing my energy from scratch. Inevitably this is a messy, frustrating and inefficient time until I get my brains back into some kind of order. 

Right now I’m just starting out. The novelty has yet to wear off. My biggest problem (if it can be called that) is deciding what to tackle first. Do I try to knock something small and easy off my list or do I nudge one of my bigger projects another increment closer to completion? Do I chose a finite project that will take a certain commitment of resources and focus but will actually be finished or do I take on a host of small, niggling tasks that I can finish quickly but which I’ll need to do again in a month or so (filing bills, for instance). Or do I just enjoy the downtime and catch up on episodes of The Simpson’s?

Choices, choices. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 15, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
