Finishing Touches


I’m likely to be late today. Somehow I’ve once again gotten out of sync with the busses and found myself arriving at the corner just in time to see the bus go past on the far side of the street. I could blame this or that: trying to walk in new shoes, extra time spent changing over my belongings to a new handbag (one which finally does not have a bunch of promotional writing on it), etc., but mostly I just got out the door a bit late and it has put my whole morning routine out of order. A part of me had hoped that the time spent waiting for the next bus to arrive would allow traffic to clear, thus allowing me to make up some lost time, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. 

This is the peril of public transit. The time-cost of commuting by bus is the real trade off to the actual money cost of bus fare. I do my best to recoup some of this time by working on writing and other projects during the commute, but I’m often disappointed about the fact that my life is divided into these increments of time that are not my own. 

In spite of my good intentions, I’ve been spending a lot of time on frivolous nothings. Partly this is well earned, but I’m already becoming impatient with myself to start making progress again. I wish that I were better about finishing things. My real guilt comes from having unfinished projects hanging over my head that I have neither the energy not the interest in working on anymore, but which I can’t just abandon due to a personal commitment. I said I’d do it and now I need to finish it. Starting is so easy. For as much as I complain about the search for inspiration, I’m infinitely better at snaring an idea out of thin air and running with it than I am at actually grinding it out to the final stages of a finished product. Maybe this is the true measure of a professional- the ability to finish things. In which case, I still have a ways to go. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 16, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
