Focus


Heavy is the head that wears the crown, but not so heavy as my head feels this morning. Why did I think it was a good idea to have so much hair?

Just when I thought my neck was getting back to normal it went out again. I swear, it goes out more than I do. I can’t help but wonder whether it is trying to get even with me for some perceived insult. I can’t help but feel a tiny bit betrayed by my own bed. I thought we were friends, but now I’ve put my neck out twice in five days by doing nothing more than sleeping. Is this meant to be a rebuke?

Needless to say, I’m back to a routine of ice, tiger balm, and anti-inflammatories. And turning my whole body to look both ways to cross the street. And wishing I could just pop my head off, Barbie like, to take the weight off. Tiger Balm under open air feels like a sunburn, but Tiger Balm under clothes feels like fever chills, but if it helps keep me upright then I’ll tolerate it. I purchased a bottle of anti-inflammatory gel caps at the drug store and spent the morning staring at a lone blue pill, wondering if there was a red pill option somewhere that I didn’t know about. 

Considering how scattered my mind has been lately, I can’t help but wonder whether my personality is undergoing a tectonic shift. My mind seems to be a million miles away and it takes all my effort to pull it down into the here and now.  On that note, I’m going to wrap this up and let my mind wander back out into the open. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 1, 2017.

One Response to “Focus”

  1. My pillows do that to me. I have sleep without a pillow!

Leave a Reply

 
