Under The Weather


I blame the blended coffee. 

About halfway through the afternoon a co-worker came to me and asked if I wanted a blended coffee: the Coffee Bean was doing a promotion and selling them for a dollar so the boss was buying. I hadn’t had a blended coffee in years, and I didn’t think I’d ever had one from Coffee Bean so I said yes. And it was cold and delicious and probably enough sugar to sustain me for a week. 

Not long afterwards I felt nauseated and hot/cold. My back ached. I just wanted to go home and curl up in bed, but the thought of sitting on a moving bus for ninety minutes did not seem like fun. I made it through the last few hours of the work day and did my best to keep from dwelling on my stomach. I found a seat in the back corner of the bus where I could put my feet up on a support rail and buried my mind in my phone in search of distraction. 

I’m a terrible wimp about feeling sick: I get sick very rarely so I have zero coping mechanisms to handle nausea and malaise besides retreating to bed and lying around like a lump. 

I made it home. I made it through dinner, which tasted delicious even though I ate at a snails pace. I made it through an episode of House of Cards. Then I conceded defeat and went straight to bed. 

So far, the extra sleep seems to have helped. I want to believe that it was just a fluke thing- a blood sugar spike/crash that got the better of me, but it may not be a bad idea to lie low for the weekend.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 23, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
