Resurfacing


I haven’t written a post for a few days; I was deeply engaged in a rewrite on a script and it was occupying all of my time and mental faculties. Rewriting takes a special kind of brain space: it is both creative and reductive, so I’m discovering that it can kinda take over my mind when I get into it too deeply. And I was on a deadline. So I couldn’t afford to let things simmer. This was probably helpful: it forced me to make decisions and commit to them. 

So now I’m surfacing again and taking stock of all the things that I pushed to the side of the drawing board while I was in problem solving mode. In truth, I’ve actually made some progress in crossing old projects off my list- hopefully for good. I have this list in my head of unfinished projects that weighs on my mind. The list isn’t long- I recently wrote it out on the whiteboard in my studio under the header “You Complete Me”- but the items on it are not small. There’s a reason why I’ve been carrying them around- some of them for years. 

But with the rewrite completed (at least for now- is a rewrite ever truly finished? Not until the film opens in theatres…) I’ve now managed to cross two items off that mental to do list. The momentum feels pretty good. I’m hopeful that I might be able to keep the ball rolling. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 28, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
