Long Weekend/Short Week


Walking out the door this morning, I had to remind myself that today was the fifth of the month. It was lovely having a four day weekend, but now getting back to work feels like coming out of a time warp that compressed four days into the blink of an eye. 
It was a delightfully unproductive break. I didn’t switch on my computer the whole weekend. On Saturday I went sailing with my dad and brother-in-law, which was a rare treat. It was pleasantly overcast for most of the outing, but I still managed to comehome with a sunburn on my hairline and on the back of my hand in the places where I’d failed to adequately apply my seventy SPF sunscreen. 

As if making an effort to double down on this sun exposure, I spent the next day out in the back yard during the heat of the day in order to apply weed-n-feed to the greenery that currently constitutes our lawn. It may turn out to be more “weed” than “feed” and it may turn out that without the weeds there is no lawn at all, but we won’t really know that until it’s had a chance to do its work. Weed-and-feeding is a task that would normally be accomplished in a matter of minutes with the right kind of spreader, but being a cheapskate I was doing my best with a DIY coffee can with holes drilled in the bottom. So after an hour or two of making ritualistic passes back and forth across the yard, shaking my coffee can rattle like a  shaman, I feel that the suburban dieties ought to be appeased enough to put some green grass on my side of the fence. 

Once the lawn was treated, I puttered around putting down mulch and trimming back the hedges. I turned the mulch pile, which had gotten too dry and wasn’t composting in the least. I helped the Curmudgeonly Lion install a few new strings of lights. In the end, the house doesn’t look much different, but I feel a lot better about it. 

My folks were in town fora visit so we had them over for dinner a few times: homemade pizza one day, roast pork loin on another. My dad helped us with some wiring that we wanted to change for the new lights. We had a cookout on the Fourth and my mom made the most elaborate connefection of an ice cream cake that I’ve ever seen- including two different fruit fillings, ice cream sandwiches, the layers of ice cream, melted chocolate, whipped cream and fresh fruit. I may or may not have dreamed about it afterwards. 

So all in all a good holiday weekend, but as always I’m relieved to be back at work and back in my routine. Plain old coffee and cereal never sounded so good for breakfast. Considering that it is already Wednesday, it’s looking like it will be a short week, so I need to get my act together and figure out what my goals are for the month. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 5, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
