There is an uneasy mood that has been settling over me on and off all weekend. I can’t quite explain how it feels or why it is happening or where it is coming from, only that I will periodically find myself so distracted by the static in my mind that everything else feels overwhelming. Consequently, I didn’t manage to accomplish very much. 

On Saturday, I broke out the sewing machine in a rare moment of proactivity. I finally did the mending that had been lying in a heap on my dresser for weeks. I finally sat myself down and stitched a table cloth for the dining room table (which is so wide that no conventional table clothes could cover it). And on Sunday I had a very productive meeting with my writing partner in the morning and with my writing group in the evening, so the weekend was not a complete loss, but all the moments in between became an ongoing battle with lethargy and ennui. 

I’m hoping that these moods were just a symptom of the heat. It is ok, after all, to have a few ‘off’days now and then, but that doesn’t make them any less frustrating to try to get through when they happen. I’d like to believe that now that a new week is begun that I can get off to a fresh start, but so far the morning has been one long series of slight misfortunes diverting me from my routine. A plumbing issue caused me to be late getting out the the door. Being late caused me to catch a slightly later bus. The slightly later bus necessitated taking a different, more circuitous bus route through the hills. The effect of this has yet to be determined- will I run late to work? Encounter a mysterious stranger? Be saved from a freak accident befalling my usual route? Does this cascade of bad luck change everything? Anything? Nothing? There’s no way to know for sure- at least not yet. 

So the adventure continues. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 17, 2017.

One Response to “”

  1. ‘Sounds like you’re being PROMPTed to take awareness of deeper feelings and INFLUENCEd by something outside your comfort zone. πŸ™‚
    Have you ever made a button-down shirt for a table…ya know, since you sew table CLOTHES. πŸ˜€
    Perhaps the unusual cosmic activity that expanded the viewing space for the Northern Lights had some impact on your desire to be productive versus relaxing/lounging. You had plenty of creative potential and were not sure where to apply it. Been there.
    I dunno how you catch a different bus and still make it to anything on time. But, it all sounds like the beginning of a Rom-Com, “slice of life” story starring either Ashley Judd or the late Brittany Murphy. The opening scene features you painting your nails with a fuzzy stuffed animal beside a sunny window in the background. Then we pull back and see the clock which indicates your failure to keep track of time. Aaand, action!

Leave a Reply

 
