Reading Lately


My impulse to read seems to be returning. I hate that it comes and goes- I’d like to think of myself as the kind of person who is a prolific reader, but instead I go through long phases where reading feels like work instead of a pleasure. Then some switch in my mind will flip back the other direction and I will have an urgent need to READ ALL THE THINGS!!!!! To the exclusion of all other pastimes. 

Yesterday, I finished reading “Astrophysics For People In A Hurry” by Neil DeGrasse Tyson, which was pleasant to read over breakfast in the mornings. I suspect that the contents that the book covers are, to an astrophysicist, so painfully basic that it would be like reading a coloring book, but for someone like me who just wants to be able to locate “astrophysics” on the map it was a welcome introduction to the area of study. 

I’ve moved on to “Theft by Finding” by David Sedaris, although admittedly I’ve only made it as far as the introduction so far. It is a book of diary entries, collected over dozens of years, so I’m curious to see where it goes. Like with reading, my journal-keeping habits have gone in irregular phases: sometimes I will record my life in nauseating detail (which, when I later read it I will consider burning out of embarrassment) and other times- often the  more eventful parts of my life that would actually be interesting to read about- I won’t write at all. Keeping this blog has turned into a diary of sorts: I mean, not a deeply personal one since I tend to avoid putting my deepest feelings and most vulnerable moments out onto the scorching plains of the internet, but it does help me record my days. In particular, it helps me remember the little things that I would otherwise put out of my mind and helps me keep a general chronology of the progression of my life. 

I’m also grinding my way through a sci fi novel that I’m not enjoying at all. It’s by an author that I typically admire, but it’s the third book from a series that I started and lost interest in so long ago that I remember next to nothing of it. The style is so very florid, and the story (so far) is so melodramatic that I’m having trouble connecting with it. But for all that, it does seem to be a quick read, considering that I read nearly half of it in one day. So there’s that. 

Beyond reading, my inspiration continues to wander in the desert. Each day I put pen to paper and hope that the muse will come, but each day it fizzles out before I reach the bottom of the page. Maybe all this reading will help spark something new.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 11, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
