Cold Second Wind


The Curmudgeonly Lion went to bed uncharacteristically early, in an attempt to get a full eight hours of sleep. He falls asleep quickly but wakes up easily and often throughout the night, whereas I take forever to fall asleep, but then typically stay submerged for the duration. I asked whether it was my coughing that was keeping him up and offered to sleep on the couch in the living room. No, no, he assured me, he was just going to try to get a head start, it would be fine. 
My cough had other ideas. At some point during the night it woke me out of a dead sleep and refused to be assuaged by water, cough drops, or willful suppression, so I retreated to the couch anyway where I could cough in peace and just get it over with, whereupon the coughing stopped and I slept deeply for the rest of the night. Figures.

So clearly I’m not quite back to one hundred percent yet. My body, alas, refused to allow the modern working world to dictate its healing schedule. About halfway through the morning my sinuses realized that they were late to the party and started running to catch up. I made a trip to the drugstore to pick up some cold medicine. Naturally the only version of the medicine that included antihistamine was meant for nighttime, which no doubt meant that it would make me drowsy, so I held off for as long as I could. When I finally ran out of tissues, I decided I’d waited long enough and I took the plunge, awaiting clear nosed sleepiness to overtake me. Neither occurred. Nose is still running. I’m still wide awake- in fact I haven’t even resorted to my afternoon energy shot. My sinuses are overachievers, clearly. 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 19, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
